About The Enterprise Forum


The Enterprise Forum was founded in 1997 by Andrew Cumpsty and Alistair Burt through a desire to ensure business involvement in the Conservative Party's policy development. Its aim is to improve the quality and flow of information between the business community and the Conservative Party. Alistair Burt was the first Chairman of the Enterprise Forum. Andrew Cumpsty took over from Alistair Burt as Chairman after Burt’s re-election to Parliament in 2001.

The first formal meeting, by the Enterprise Forum was with Peter Lilley MP, the then Deputy Leader of the Conservative Party. Since that time the Enterprise Forum has had virtually every front bench Conservative Politician speak at one of its meetings.

Additionally, the Forum also engages with key policy stakeholders outside of the Government and the Conservative Party. These have included Director Generals at the CBI, Deputy Governors at The Bank of England, the Liberal Democrats, Labour Party, the SNP, the TUC, Devolved and Local Government.

Membership and Meetings

The Enterprise Forum’s members are businesses and organisations that want to engage on policy with the Government and other politicians. Membership includes commercial organisations (including FTSE 100 companies and SME’s), trade associations and charities.

The programme of events is determined by the policy priorities of the member organisations. The majority of meetings are held under the Chatham House Rule.

President, Vice Presidents and Directors

The President of the Enterprise Forum is The Rt Hon Sir Eric Pickles. Vice-Presidents of the Enterprise Forum are The Rt Hon Alistair Burt MP (Founder and former Chairman of the Enterprise Forum), Sir Graham Brady MP, The Rt Hon Esther McVey MP, Malcolm Harbour CBE and Mark Prisk MP.

The Enterprise Forum is run by an unpaid board of senior directors drawn from business and industry (see biographies opposite)

European Parliament Representative

The Enterprise Forum holds regular European Parliament update meetings in London and Brussels.

Executive Members
Lionel Zetter FCIPR FPRCA Director

During his professional career Lionel was an associate director of the Media Information Group, and company secretary of Political Research and Communications International. He went on to become managing director of Parliamentary Monitoring Services Ltd, Political Wizard Ltd, and Zetter’s Political Services Ltd, as well as non-executive deputy chairman of Dod’s Parliamentary Communications Ltd.

He has been Chairman of the Government Affairs Group, President of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations, and Chairman of the PRCA Public Affairs Board. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute for Public Relations, and of the Public Relations Communications Association.

Lionel is a former chairman of Enfield Southgate Conservative Association, and fought Edmonton for the Conservatives in the 2005 general election. He was elected to Enfield Council in 2010.

As well as being a Director of the Enterprise Forum, he is also Vice President of PublicAffairsAsia, He has written, spoken and taught widely on politics and public affairs, and is author of a books on political campaigning, political lobbying and the Conservative Party.

He was awarded Public Affairs News Personality of the Year in 2008, Public Affairs News 'Outstanding Contribution' in 2012, CIPR Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016, and PRCS Outstanding Contribution award in 2019.

twitter Ilinked in